Local Guerrilla Units

Described as New People's Army (NPA) units which vary in size depending on the stage of political development in the area where they are operating. Their primary tasks are to weaken the government forces through small offensives, establish guerilla zones and bases provide training to the militiamen and secure the regional forces. Guerrilla units have no definite area of operation although they each have a military area as their base of operation. They also serve as basis for the creation of the Regional Mobile Force (RMF). The different guerilla units are the Front Guerilla Unit (FGU), District Guerilla Unit (DGU), Secondary Force (SF) and lskwad Gerilya (IG). (AFPM 3-8-1)

Comments We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, contact us!